Short Story

Hello,

I have decided to write a slightly different post today.

Using 300 words I have written a short story.

 

It had been 268 days since I saw him, I want him to come home but that won’t be happening any time soon. My mind wanders as I dawdle to the bus stop.

“Willow”

“Heyy” I shout as I turn around to look at my best friend in the entire world, Hollie.

“How’s it going, any news? Hollie asks a little too cheerfully for 7.15 am.

“Nothing yet I really hope he’s ok.”

I should probably explain; my dad is a marine biologist who spends most of his time at sea. I haven’t heard from him in so long. The bus arrives at 7.20 (10 minutes early which makes a change.) We board, nod at the driver and sit in the third row from the back.

The school day passes nothing unusual or out of the ordinary happens, until 2 pm when Mr Row the head teacher, strolls into my science class, whispers something to Miss Chester who calls me over.

A few minutes later I am sat in a large open office. Nervously, I look around, Mr Row gestures for me to sit and takes his place behind the desk.

“Willow I have some sad news” he says slowly.

“Ok” I respond in a barely audible whisper.

“It’s your dad” he continues but whatever he said next I don’t know because his voice faded, the room began to spin and I felt sick. I tried to stand, to run, to get away I don’t want to hear it. The next thing I know Mr Row and Matron are staring at me whilst I lay on the floor, they both have two heads.

“Wwwhat happened” I stuttered.

“You collapsed” replied matron, I just stared, confused.

“NOOOO” I scream at the top of my voice.

Both adults attempt to restrain me.

Take care,

Dolphin xx

 

3 thoughts on “Short Story

Leave a Reply

