September and October wrap ups

Hi, let’s start with September. I am at college now which means less time to read what I want.

Physical-1

Audio- 3

Ebook-

Total-4

Total pages-1,565

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Mass. This was such a great book lots of action but the love story was also really good. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series. This was my first experience with an assassin and it has made me want more.

Cress By Marissa Meyer. This has been really good so far as a series. I love the way that previous books are intertwined. This took me a little bit longer to work out which retelling this was.

Missing You by Harlan Coben. This had so many layers making me constantly guess what was going to happen next.

Through The Woods by Emily Caroll. Horror is not something that usually catches my eye. With this being a graphic novel however, I thought it was worth a try. The colours added to the overall effect. It was very odd the separate stories did run into each other a bit.

October was a really good month.

Physical-2

Audio-4

Ebook-0

Total-7

Total pages -2,694

The first book to be finished was Piranesi by Susanna Clark. It took me a long time to read this considering it was a small book. I didn’t enjoy endless descriptions of hallways and statues. I had guessed the ending from about half way through. Most of the time I was really confused.

Next was Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J K Rowling . This was much more enjoyable and there were quite a few details I had forgotten. It is great fun to get emerged in this world.

I was also able to finish The Griffin Gate by Vasti Hardy. This was a sweet story for children, the feel of the books are very different from other things I have read. (Steam punk possibly.) It is a really unique setting and concept of warders being able to help and fix issues.

Winter by Marissa Meyers was my next book to be finished. I have really enjoyed this book as a lot of things have slotted into place it was very interesting. I was often listening late into the night. The depth of this world gets better with each book.

The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley was the next thing I was able to listen to. I really enjoyed this. I was shocked by the ending and didn’t see it coming. There were so many details that added to the feeling of the book.

Then came The Puffin Portal by Vasti Hardy. Again, sweet story. It was a nice single sitting audio book.

The final book of this month was another quick listen. Millions by Frank Cotterell. I enjoyed how the two brothers were so different. I think one of the boys has Autism and it was shown really well. It was really cool that his passion is Saints from around the world. It was also good at addressing the feelings that can come up after losing a parent whilst staying positive.

That’s all for now.

Take care,

Dolphin xx

2 thoughts on “September and October wrap ups

Leave a comment